Healing Anger

imagesI know about being pissed off.  I’ve been angry most of my life.  It hasn’t been until the past couple of years that anger hasn’t ruled me.  Yoga is what released it from my body and mind, specifically Kundalini Yoga.  Kundalini Yoga has a way of dissolving those patterns that keep us from living life joyfully.

My anger showed up as gallbladder disease.  I had to have my gallbladder removed a few years back.  This was before I knew about alternative practices to bring the body back into balance.  This was before I began to practice yoga regularly.  Strong emotions get stuck in the body if we don’t have a healthy way of dealing with our issues.  Those stuck emotions can show up as any dis-ease that ails us.

The other piece that changed is I stopped blaming others for what I thought wasn’t working in my life.  I began to take responsibility for what was showing up and how it was showing up.  I then, of course, turned that anger onto myself for creating things that sucked.  One of the most freeing statements I have come across is this.  “We are never angry for the reasons we think.”  When ever I get angry now that statement filters it way into the forefront of my brain and I pause.  If I’m not angry for the reason I think then why am I really angry?

For me, most of the time I’m angry because I feel powerless in a situation.  And, when I look even deeper I realize that I’m angry because I’m afraid.  Once I can get to that place I can usually find compassion for myself.  If the anger still doesn’t shift I move my body.  I walk or I do yoga or I beat the crap out of a pillow to release it from my body.  I have been known to do all three.

Anger is one of the most harmful emotions we can hold onto.  Some of the effects anger has on the body are these:

  • Headache
  • Digestive Problems
  • Insomnia
  • Increased Anxiety
  • Depression
  • High Blood Pressure
  • Skin Problems
  • Heart Attack
  • Stroke

I invite you to find a healthy way to release anger from your body.  Not every technique will work for every body.  Find the one that works for you.

3 thoughts on “Healing Anger

  1. Della – you always seem to get right to the heart of anything I’m going thru. Yes, most of the time when I think I am angry it’s really fear! And yes, it becomes easier to deal with when you call it what it really is!

  2. What a great blog Della! Anyone who can make it to your Healing Anger workshop tonight will be blessed with amazing pearls of wisdom. Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

