Curried Sweet Potato Soup

In the past few months I have followed a Paleo Diet.  I have found over the course of time that grains and beans make my blood sugars wonky and it makes for difficulty living a normal life.  The paleo lifestyle has worked for me like nothing I have tried before.  Basically it has more animal protein vs. grains & beans like I was in the past.  The only problem is that it is heavily laden with meat.  I do eat meat but only once or twice a week.  The one consensus I make that most paleos don’t eat is cheese.  I tend to choose goat or sheep cheeses as they are easier to digest. What am I to eat that is hearty, filling and vegetarian all in one meal?

I have looked for paleo vegetarian recipes on-line and have found only a few offerings.  I thought I would start my recipe base for others of you like me who don’t want to consume as much meat in their daily diet yet want to feel satisfied.  Here is my first recipe and it is quite delicious!

IMG_3467

  • 1 tbsp. Olive oil
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 3  Medium sweet potatoes, peeled & diced
  • 2 tsp. Curry powder
  • 1 c. Vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp. Almond butter
  •  smoked salt

Sautee onion in olive oil until translucent.  Add diced sweet potato and curry and add broth.  Simmer until sweet potato is soft.  Add mix to blender and blend to your favorite consistency.  Add more broth as needed.  Add almond butter and smoked salt to taste.

This makes about 4 servings.  I eat this with paleo bread that I made from a recipe off Elana’s Pantry.

4 thoughts on “Curried Sweet Potato Soup

  1. If you are trying paleo, and intimidated by the amount of meat, you may want to check out the Terry Wahls MS diet. She uses a very high proportion of leafy and green vegetables (no eggs, dairy, grains, nuts) to address mitochondrial disfunction. Her TEDx talk is very enlightening. I have an 11yo daughter with lyme/PANS autoimmune disease and I am searching high and low for help. Are you still finding IR sauna helpful?
    Thank you for your blog.

Leave a Reply

