To Be or Not To Be . . . Conscious

No matter how developed you are in any other area of your life, no matter what you say you believe, no matter how sophisticated or enlightened you think you are, how you eat tells all.
Bummer.
-Geneen Roth-
Women, Food, and God

I came across this quote the other day and it brought me into deep contemplation.  I would like to think I’m conscious but this statement proves that I am not.  I realized it wasn’t just what I ate but how I ate that was unconscious.  For the most part I pick very healthy food to eat yet I won’t practice presence when it comes time to eat it.  I consciously choose unconsciousness in that moment.  I have other areas in my life I choose unconsciousness as well.  Anytime I am multi-tasking while on the telephone with someone and spend too much time mindlessly on the internet are all good examples of choosing unconsciousness.

I would like to say it’s in those moments that I go back to sleep or that I wasn’t really awake to begin with, yet I know better.  Sometimes consciousness is boring.  There is only so much time I can spend in contemplation before I’ve had enough of myself.  There is also this belief I have that being conscious means no more fun.  Mindlessly eating and watching Shameless is fun.  I can’t believe I just put that out there!  I watch television programs and am entertained by other people’s unconsciousness.  I did it again!

Now, a bit of distraction is not a bad thing.  I, however, have an all or nothing personality.  Another way to say it is I have an addictive personality.  (I so need to get over that!)  I know the key to doing just that is staying conscious and present in all my moments.  Can I do that without getting bored?  I know that sometimes doing things mindlessly like eating or watching television is how our society decompresses.  Sounds like an oxymoron!  Maybe we all just need naps instead . . . to be continued.

2 thoughts on “To Be or Not To Be . . . Conscious

  1. For me, veganism has allowed me to be present and conscious while eating in a way that being an omnivore did not allow. When you love life and animals, you can’t let yourself be fully conscious while eating them or products that came from their bondage and subsequent death. I don’t know your eating habits, but I know that this has been a hugely positive change in my life and highly suggest it!

    • That is an excellent point, Elise. I have been eating meat lately yet when I was thinking about all of this last night I was appalled by my meat consumption for the very reason you mention.

Leave a Reply

