My Friend, The Spagetti Squash

One of my favorite things about Fall/Winter is the many squashes to choose from.  I especially love the Spaghetti Squash.  I use it in place of pasta and rice.  It is low in fat and high in fiber.  I bake one up and scoop out the delicious insides and use in everything from soup to stir fry.  Before I bake it I cut in half with a sharp knife.  I then use a metal ice cream scoop to remove the seeds.  I cook until a fork goes easily through the skin.

I bake the squash upside down in a baking dish with a little water in the bottom to help the squash steam.

Once its all baked I store the spaghetti like insides in a covered container and refrigerate to use in dishes I cook throughout the week.  Try with eggs scrambled with herbed goat cheese.  Enjoy!

One thought on “My Friend, The Spagetti Squash

Leave a Reply

