Yoga 365 – Day 183 – Bound Lotus

I have begun practicing Bound Lotus again these past few days.  It is a meditation that I go back to often.  It is the one meditative kriya that brings me to stillness.  Stillness is a challenge for me.  I am always moving, whether that be physically or mentally.  As you can see from the photo above there is no movement in bound lotus.  You literally bind yourself still.

Due to my back history I have to approach bound lotus in a modified way.  Here is a video with the master of Bound Lotus Mahan Kirn Kaur.

I am practicing the first modification in the video.  My intention is not to get into the full pose.  My intention is stillness.  I can meet that goal without hurting myself.  I have had to stop practicing this kriya in the past due to pushing myself further than my body is ready for.  I will be patient this time around and reap the rewards in a graceful, modified way.

There is a beautiful shabd that is recommended to listen to while in this pose called Ray Man Shabd.  Here is Snatam Kaur’s version.  This shabd brings me deep within myself.  It pulls up from my depths that which no longer serves me.  It shows me who I really I am.  Sat Nam.

 

4 thoughts on “Yoga 365 – Day 183 – Bound Lotus

  1. Pingback: Bound Lotus – Day 8 – The Sound of Silence « Yogagirl2's Blog

  2. Pingback: Food Is Not The Enemy « Yogagirl2's Blog

  3. As physically challenging as it is its far more mental than physical and I firmlybelieve that the commitment to it alone can carry you through anything!..The self sustaining energy of Bound Lotus can bring miracles of both healing and transformation.

  4. Pingback: 40 Days of Bound Lotus « Yogagirl2's Blog

Leave a Reply

