40 Day Sugar Cleanse Starts Monday, April 25th

I just had to do it.  I had to eat all those dark chocolate chips in one sitting.  36 hours later I am still paying the consequences.  The irony is that I was researching diet and inflammation while I was eating them.  Apparently I needed the physical experience of sugar being a cause of inflammation.  I woke up the next morning after eating them with a headache and nausea (sugar hangover).  I was so stiff and sore from my joints swelling that I had to ask students in my yoga class yesterday to demonstrate some of the poses.  I was in too much pain to show them properly.  Even today, a day and a half later, I am still feeling the effects of too much sugar in my body.

I typically do not eat refined sugars at all.  My system can handle a bit of honey, agave, or maple syrup.  Those chocolate chips were just calling my name.  I bought them to make banana chocolate chip muffins for my Easter Morning Kundalini Yoga class.  I few chips here and there wouldn’t matter would it?  Boy, did I get the message.

One of the causes of inflammation (a swelling of the joints) is diet.  It’s not only sugar that is the culprit.  Processed foods, dairy, gluten containing foods and soy products  are just a few that can also cause this problem.  When I eat dairy my entire body feels arthritic.  When I take dairy out of my diet my body goes back to its mobile, flexible self.  You would think it would be easy to simply take out the offending foods from my every day life.  Food and eating are one of the simplest most basic pleasures we have on this planet.  We socialize around food all the time.  Most processed foods even if its “health” food that we buy at the store these days has sugar, wheat, soy or dairy.  Many times all of them at the same time.

What’s a person to do?  Take one day at a time and do the best you can.   I have to make the food I eat a conscious choice.  When I eat consciously I ask my body what it needs to be healthy.  That is different than asking what it wants.  It wants chocolate chips!

On Monday, April 25th a few of my friends and I will be embarking on a 40 day sugar cleanse.  I, personally, will not be consuming any sugar, maple syrup, honey or agave nectar for the next 40 days.  I will be consuming fruit as my body wishes.  I am going on this journey to give my body an opportunity to rest.  Spring is always a good time to cleanse the body of the long winter of heavier foods consumption.

I will be writing about this experience over the next 40 days.  Please join me if you can.

Sat Nam,

Della

Leave a Reply

