Yogic Diet – Day 10

I’ve noticed a shift today.  My body doesn’t seem as puffy and my energy has increased.  I think there are two reasons for this.  One, I’ve reduced my sodium intake exponentially.  And two, I’ve been slamming two large glasses of water right away when I get up in the morning.

My guidance has hinted that my sodium intake has been too high.  Here is what my research has found.

The body requires only 500 milligrams of sodium each day. The American Heart Association recommends no more than 2,400 milligrams of sodium per day, but most of us take in more than 4,000 milligrams every day.

Once I started reading labels I am appalled at how much sodium I was taking in.  In one teaspoon of table salt there are 2,325 mg of sodium.  In one tablespoon of soy sauce there are 1,006 mg.  If you are adding a splash here and a shake there 500 mg adds up pretty quickly.   There is a great website called nutritiondata.com that you can plug-in your food item and a nutrition label will pop up with all the facts on that particular food.  It is a great website to explore.

Water is a fantastic conductor of energy.  I for one, always feel better in or around water.  The last two mornings I have started off my day with a nice water flush.  When I did it the first time, I noticed my energy shift immediately.  I  encourage my healing clients to take a shower or wash their hands to help cleanse their energy field.  Drinking a healthy amount in the morning can do the same thing.  It did take two large classes (12 oz) to have that effect.  It could be different for each person.

One thought on “Yogic Diet – Day 10

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Yogagirl2's Blog

Leave a Reply

